The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Due to the increase of tourism, English is now the first and the principal language in the world, and, according to some, may predominate all over the other languages. Having one language would certainly aid understanding, but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit is that language would not represent anymore a barrier, leading to a more effective and functional communication between people. In other words, because speaking with the locals and native people is part and parcel of travelling in foreign countries, it could be extremely difficult to ask and understand information. Thus, having a common way of expression would call off this linguistic impediment, helping people communicate efficiently. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having only a global terminology. Firstly, every language, major or minor it could be, reflects the culture and the habits of that country, making every one of them unique and relevant with its own way of life. For instance, the ethimology a history of a word etymology is a field of the linguistic, which explains the origin and evolution of the words linked with the costumes of the region of that period. So, if there was a universal vocabulary, part of the country’s history would die. To sum up, while there are plus points to have a single dialect, too much would be lost as a result. English, as the only language spoken globally, would lead people to communicate better without any linguistic barriers. However, this pro is weighed up by the cons that would demolish parts of countries’ history.