Today people are traveling more than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of traveling for the traveler?

There has been an increase in the number of travellers nowadays. This essay will discuss the possible reasons for this development and also highlight the advantages that going on trips has on the traveller. There are two main reasons why individuals, travel more today compared to the past. The first is the increased convenience. In the last three decades, there has been an increase in the use of planes which are more convenient to travel with than ships. This mode of transportation is faster than the later; hence, turning the world into a global village, such that anyone can move from one country to another within the blink of an eye. For instance, a survey conducted at Harvard in 1970 showed that more people will go on long distance trips if there was a faster means of transport. The second reason is that travelling in recent times has become cheaper. When planes were first in operation, it was extremely expensive and only wealthy individuals could afford this luxury. However, this is not the case today, as this means of travelling is quite affordable. There are two major advantages a traveller has when he/she goes on trips. The first is the cultural experience. Individuals who go on trips often get to experience a custom that is entirely different from theirs. For example, they get to eat meals, learn a foreign language and also dress in outfits from their temporary place of abode. Another merit of travelling is a broadened education. When people travel, they get to see places and learn things outside the walls of the classroom. To illustrate, many schools today have introduced excursions to their curriculum which gives the students the opportunity to learn by doing or seeing, not just the abstract kind of learning. In conclusion, the world is experiencing an increase in the number of travellers in recent times. This essay discussed the reasons for this trend. In addition, this essay highlighted the advantages travelling has on the traveller.