Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that poverty is the primary reason behind most illegal actions. While I agree that the hardship is the contributing factor to criminal activities, crimes are also closely tied with a few other underlying environmental factors. First of all, poverty is linked to many criminal behaviour. Due to financial constraints, many people carry out criminal acts such as shoplifting, drug, or human trafficking to improve their economic conditions. Underprivileged people don't have access to educational opportunities that enable them to get well-paid jobs. Instead, the majority of them have to work long hours in sweatshops and barely earn enough to survive. Engaging in illegal businesses, for example, is seemingly the only option to get money. Financially vulnerable people are more likely to commit crimes to solve their urgent problems for shelter and food. Secondly, environmental factors are also equally important in causing a person to break the laws. Young people, who grow up in dysfunctional families, for instance, may suffer from physical abuse or whose parents engage in substance abuse are prone to mimicking similar behaviours from their parents, and, as a result, commit crimes. Besides, in a wealthy family, for example, in which parents too busy at work and don't have much time to talk to their children, their teenagers may find solace other than home. These young people may hang out with disaffected youths and commit juvenile delinquents. To get acceptance from their peers, they may blindly violate the laws and regulations. To conclude, poverty is the contributing factor to criminal activities. However, environmental factors such as growing in dysfunctional families or the lack of communication in the family are also underlying causes behind the crimes.