The death penalty is the best way to control and prevent serious crimes. To what extend do you agree?

Many people hold the view that the death sentence is the most effective method to deal with serious crimes. While I agree that capital punishment is necessary, there are other available measures to exercise control over this issue. First of all, the death sentence is a deterrent to serious crimes. Knowing the potentially dire consequences of violating the laws, a person will be less likely to commit serious crimes. In Vietnam, for example, drug dealing is highly prohibited, even trading for less than one kilogram of heroin, the drug dealer may face execution or lifetime in jail. Without severe punishment, there would have been more people involved in selling this illegal substance since it's undoubtedly a highly lucrative business. Capital punishment would definitely make people think carefully before committing a serious crime. Secondly, apart from capital punishment, there are a few other approaches that can be implemented to prevent and control serious crimes. Many people engage in violent acts or serious crimes due to economic reasons. To improve financial conditions, they commit serious crimes. One possible measure to prevent this from happening is to provide employment opportunities, as well as to give financial support for people who are in need. Besides, increasing the police workforce in areas where serious crimes frequently happen can also help in governing and preventing serious crimes. The presenting of police certainly makes people behave better and less likely to have violent acts or commit serious crimes. To conclude, the death penalty is certainly a good measure to prevent and control serious crimes from happening. However, I believe other actions, such as providing educational and employment opportunities, as well as increasing the police workforce, are equally important.