A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs including uses for food and research. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There remains a controversy whether animals are not meant to suffer from the exploitation of human beings and instead being treated equally as mankind. However, some people assert that living creatures are to be served for the manifold wants of humans, such such as a source of food or scientific purposes. Personally, I lean towards the former statement for several following reasons. In the first place, animals reserve the right as humans possess. Undoubtedly, they are both creatures living on the same planet, sharing the same natural habitat and atmosphere which are granted to all creatures, meaning that animals are deserved to be treated equally as humans. Therefore, it is going against the natural laws if people keep interfering with and abuse the existence of animals. In addition to this, the exploitation of animals will probably result in a potential risk that humankind might confront in the near future, such as famine or, in the worst scenario, even their own extinction due to the loss in biodiversity. On the other hand, it is a reckless belief that animals are the slaves for human’s endless needs. Firstly, animals are obviously not the sole source of food. Alternatively, people can switch into vegetable-based or meat-free dishes like mushrooms or consume more fresh fruits in order to maintain their health with the absence of animals’ meat. Secondly, placing animals as investigating samples in such scientific experiments might not have favourable outcomes as commonly expected. For instance, rats are usually tested in medical trials to determine whether a type of medicine is effective in practical usage. However, the medicine is likely to work on the rats’ body structure, but might have reversed or side effects when used on the human body, leading to numerous severe illnesses because of the undesired consequences of the taken pills. In conclusion, animals are by no means under obligation to meet the human’s unlimited demands. Instead, people should change their mind, start to appreciate the indispensable benefits to which animals are constantly bringing and consider them to have the equivalent rights as owned by mankind.