The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Due to recent advances in communication technology, the mobile phone has become a part of our daily life. When compared to earlier years, People nowadays depend on mobile phones more than anything and it has become an important accessory. But, a lot of social and health related problems have arisen due to over dependence. In my opinion the Negatives out wins the positives. First and foremost, is the increase in the percentage of road accidents. A large percentage of people use mobile phone when they are driving. This causes lose of concentration during driving also and possibly leads to accidents that can be fatal to the driver. We humans are mostly programmed to perform one activity at a time, so, when we multitask our brain cannot focus on both functions that we are carrying out. For instance, a survey conducted by road transportation authority indicated that, usage of phones while driving had contributed to large amount of road accidents in the cities of Kerala. Secondly, there is a huge increase in the number of persons getting addicted to mobile phones. A lot of youngsters had been reported to be admitted to various de-addiction centres for the treatment of mobile phones dependence. Over use of phones, especially from a young age can result in aggressive behaviour, lack of concentration, lose of interest in studies and insomnia. For example, the results of a health study conducted by students of different age group in Delhi indicated that, over dependence on mobile devices has resulted in emergence of violent attitude in teenagers. In conclusion, mobile phones are an important necessarily in our day to day life. Just like any available resources, mobile phones have both advantages and disadvantages. And I believe, mobile phones won't create any good impact in our society if we don't use it cautiously.