In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there would be benefits if society had more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the life expectancy has widely increased. While some people believe that the elderly cause many problems in the country, others argue that they could be beneficial to society. I personally believe that their benefits and harms are equal. One significant problem that an increase in the elderly population causes is more retired people. This is an issue because the government would need to provide food, clothes, and other important high-quality life amenities, without actually benefiting it, which would rather harm its economy. Furthermore, due to an increase in the overall health of citizens, people are expected to work longer. As more older people are present in society they might take the positions of fresh graduates leaving them without work and increasing unemployment. On the other hand, society can benefit from the presence of the elderly in it in terms of experience, knowledge, and wisdom. To illustrate, higher retirement age means more skilled workers in the work field. Moreover, the majority of this group are people who have worked hard all their lives and have some cash to spend on entertaining themselves and providing for their new families. That indeed opposes the idea that seniors are of no benefit to society and proves that this age group does not contribute to the economy but has a lot to contribute to society and inherits experience to young ones. In conclusion, while an aging population can cause a lot of problems in terms of the levels of unemployment and their lack of contribution in the work field, this category can actually contribute to both the society and economy.