Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resource while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Space exploration was in the spotlight over the last decades. It has come a long way, for sure, as since 1960 scientists have managed to explore a wide area of the Universe, including sending spacecrafts on planets, and astronauts have even been able to walk over the surface of the Moon. However, people complain that the huge amount of money spent on space exploration should be reconsidered. As a matter of fact, they think that government has the duty of balancing the public expenditure towards other sectors which daily have to face many challenges, such as the continuing cuts on medical healthcare or education. Moreover, medical research needs funds as well, and it is much more important as it produces drugs to treat current and future diseases. On the other hand, somebody could argue that conducting research is fundamental and that progresses in space exploration make a State a pioneer in the scientific and economic field. Nevertheless, I strongly disagree with the implication that this type of research has to receive public fundings, as nowadays there is plenty of struggling areas. Therefore, I suggest to find an alternative source of income to finance this kind of exploration. For instance, private investors could be persuaded to donate enough money to launch space missions. In conclusion, it is disrespectful spending public funds with the aim of looking for other life forms, if on our planet people still starve.