Nhat 2: Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is often argued that the responsibility of preventing illegal activities should be completely given to the law, while another point of view prevails as well; pointing out that it should not only be the government's endeavour and that you have to take control over your own safety. In this essay, I will discuss in further detail both standpoints, and explain why I think that the latter is remarkably the best option for society. As for the first position that defends the power bestowed to the state upon the general population, it is quite concerning how much authority has to be delivered to politicians and the police to take preemptive actions against crime, given that this is equal to transferring them the tools and necessary resources to secure general surveillance, which translates to the irrumption of privacy for the average person. That is to say, we are willingly passing our right for privacy in exchange for safety. To clarify this last point, it is imperative to mention that if crime occurs especially whenever there is an absence of the law, then observation, and thus spying, is the countermeasure to combat crime. Regarding the second point, which states that a person has the right to dissuade crime by his own means, it could be said that it certainly exacerbates the fear of disruption of peace because of irresponsible behaviours owing to the fact that more power is given to the individual, the same civilian might incur in wrongdoings and could cause more damage proportionally to one that would not have the same power, such as a person that could acquire and possess guns. However, I am of the school of thinking that whether the community is more committed to incorporating every one of its components, the citizens, accompanied with adequate values, it might end up being an effective deterrent effort towards the reduction of misdeeds. To conclude, while many advocate for the elevation of the government attributions to stop crime from occurring, at the cost of depriving the individual of his own right to privacy, I do believe that one should be conceded the opportunity to demonstrate that a well-constructed community that promotes peaceful values and that permits the regular possession of tools, like fire guns, to protect themselves, is the right path for a thriving society.