Traditionally, elderly people have lived with and been cared for by younger family members. In modern society, more and more elderly people are living in special homes for the elderly. Why do you think families choose to have their elderly relatives live in special homes away from family? What do you think is the best way for modern families to care for their elderly relatives?

In recent generation, family structure has been modernised. Previously, parents used to live with their children, when they grew old. Recently, a change has been seen. Children are sending their parents to the nursing homes. There are various reasons as to why younger family members choosing this opinion. Firstly, in this modern world of science, many diseases have been researched and encountered. Old people tend to get affected by diseases like dementia and Alzheimer etc. Living with a demented family member not only requires special medical assistance round the clock, but also requires time and the constant presence of the carer. In this plural of "this" these modern times, where everyone is part of the rat race, fighting for their own life, taking care of an elderly can prove to be difficult. The special homes are made for people like them to be cared for. They can get constant quality care under the supervision of medical professionals. Secondly, as a generation has changed, modern society has been evolved and so has the family cultures. Elderly people tend to follow their own strict lifestyles which they have been following for a considerable amount of date or for years. For them, the change can be hard. Living within the modern family with a house full of recent technological appliances, the elderly people may feel neglected and lonely. It becomes hard for them to cope with those technological advances. Use of technology can be taught by the younger generation, but they fail to possess patience or the temperament to teach the elderly family members. To conclude, if the younger family cannot spare time for their elderly parents then it is better to send them to the nursing home where at least they can be cared for, medically, socially as well as physically. The younger family members should not only visit their elders regularly, but also spend some quality time with them.