Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

While it is believed by some people that using animals in all kinds of experiments should not be allowed, others think that many significant scientific explorations have been made possible by means of such methods. In fact, experimentation on animals can be justified because sometimes they are the only possible candidates. However, technological instruments and genetic engineering are now considered to be reliable substitutes. Despite being against ethical considerations, experimentation on animals can be justified. Moreover, scientists and doctors use them only because they match certain criteria that make them the perfect fit for testing purposes. For instance, horses have always been used to test their blood reaction to certain chemicals in order to simulate the process in human blood. Therefore, there are many good reasons why these tests are being performed on living creatures. In contrast, alternatives to such techniques are available now and they are even more relevant, faster, and much more appropriate. Furthermore, genetic testing has been performed recently on individual cells in order to avoid the ethical conflict of using a whole body to test a new medication. For example, in Japan, experiments are being carried out on dead cells in order to discover a permanent cure for cancer. Consequently, people no longer believe it is necessary to use any living creature to test something as long as there are alternatives to such a procedure, such as using dead cells by means of genetic engineering. In conclusion, While it is argued that all experimentation on animals is bad by some people, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from those methods. Indeed, sometimes there is justification for using these approaches when they are the only suitable option. However, many alternative options have been introduced into the scientific testing techniques and genetic modification and technological equipment are two powerful examples.