In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Globally, there is a growing tendency toward longer life expectancies in many different countries. Some believe that the growing ageing population has a negative impact on the government. While others think the long-lived phenomenon is appropriate for the community. In my opinion, the increase in elderly will create a difficult situation in the state because of reduced economic income rates. This essay will discuss both of the issues with reasons. First of all, the increase in the elderly impacts economic growth. In this case, this nation experienced the decline trends because of reduced productivity. Also, the elderly are not included in the workforce age. For instance, Japan as a country with the lowest population growth worries about the economic conditions in the future. It is because in the last year the economic rates were slightly dropped even in the world Japan was the developed country. However, this problem was the effect of decreased productivity. In addition, the elderly as a part of society have advantages because of culture and history preservation. As we know, old people recorded history in their memory. For example, the ancient culture is still maintained because the elderly value it more. Then, the historical background of something can be provided in this preservation. Additionally, it will increase the consciousness as part of the community. In conclusion, the rise of an ageing population can make the economy in some countries drop. On the other hand, the benefits of it can manage the preservation of culture and history. I believe that even though there are benefits to this, we can't deny it makes progress for the country's economy.