Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Universities see a lower enrolment rate for the science subjects from across the world. The problem can be justified by two main reasons – fear of mathematics and fewer job opportunities. The field of science and mathematics are complementary to each other. One cannot study a science subject without a mathematical aptitude. Students all over the globe, fear numbers and mathematical concepts from a very tender age. This happens because there are a minuscule percentage of educators who understand numbers and are able to pass it on to the next generation. In most of the countries across the world, students are forced to memorize tables and formulae instead of understanding and deriving them. Adding to the dilemma of the students is the outdated university courses which leave the students poorly skilled for the job market. For example, when I graduated from university after completing my Bachelor’s in Chemistry, maximum of the job opportunities available to me was that of becoming a teacher in high school. The impact of this disparity is that we see a very less number of students pursuing science as researchers or scientists. The society has lesser people with the scientific temperament who can lead to newer innovations and inventions. This in turn affects the overall development of the human evolution. In conclusion, fear of numbers and poorly designed university courses are discouraging the number of students to pursue science at the university level and take it up as a career. This is hampering the rate of technological advancement of the humankind.