Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Ever since the evolution of touch screen phones and tablets, the importance of cinema has been diminishing. With a few people arguing against the need of visiting a picture house, when movies can be enjoyed over phones and tablets. This essay will discuss both sides of the opinion and elaborate on my viewpoint that why film theatre is inevitable when it comes to enjoying a film to its fullest. To begin with, the most important factor in selecting other sources over theatres is the cost. To explain further, although some entertainment content on applications like YouTube, Hotstar and Amazone Prime is free, most of it is paid, yet it is cheaper than going to theatres. Furthermore, these applications prove to be more convenient as content over them can be paused and replayed over and over again. Hence, affordability and convenience are the keys to the popularity of these media options. However, cinema certainly has a few advantages over other sources, which cannot be overlooked. Firstly, even though it may not be the cheapest option to enjoy a movie, it is certainly the one that brings movies to life. To elaborate, the ambience and the sound effects of a theatre cannot be matched by any other source, making it more life like. Moreover, while the movie experience is constantly interrupted on phones and tablets due to a myriad of reasons, there is a rare chance of some distraction in a cinema hall. Therefore, resulting in extremely indulging and enjoyable experience. To conclude, while watching movies over phones and tablets is becoming popular due to reasons relating to cost and convenience, it definitely kills the real spirit of watching a film. Thus, in my opinion, to deliver the true experience of watching a movie, nothing can compete with cinema, given the atmosphere, the sound effects and the undisturbed indulgence it provides.