In many countries children are engaged in different kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it a valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

Children in many states are involved in various types of a paid job. There are people who are not in favour of this, and said that it has a detrimental effect in youngster’s life, while others are of the opinion that it is vital for learning, invaluable work experience, and a great way to train them to be responsible. I personally agree with the later. The reason for People who are not in favour of children to work lies in the possibility of children to get involved in an accident because most of the workplaces are designed for fully grown employees. Work equipment such as an office table, oven are high and can be reached and operated by adults. Also, some equipment such as welding machine, drilling machine are too complicated for children to use and their strength and abilities are not suited for such machine. If youngsters try to operate or use these machines, they may get an accident or the worse may cause early death. It can be seen that some machines are dangerous for children to use. Having said that, I still believe that children can be benefited from doing paid work. This will serve as a learning experience for them. They can have an overview on how the real world works, and this may guide them in choosing their career in the future. Also, taking work will help them to become responsible. When they do a job, they learn their role in the company and may realize the importance of their work. For an instance, my cousin who did a summer job when he is still grade 6 became very responsible when he grows, now he is a successful Engineer. In conclusion, although some work place a place where work is done workplace and equipment are too dangerous for children, I still believe that it is invaluable in their development. Work experience can mould them to become responsible and they will gain insight of the real world.