Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Staying in a foreign country and having to get accustomed with a completely new language can be cumbersome for many, resulting in social awkwardness and many other practical issues. In my opinion, this can indeed be a serious problem as it can not only interfere with people's daily lives but can also cause severe depression. Firstly, not knowing the local language can make living at a place really difficult. If a person is not able to clearly express or understand simple things, it can get really frustrating, thus resulting in irritability. For example, in China, most of the public instructions are written in local language, which makes it immensely difficult to even spend a few days there without any assistance. Hence, the ordeal of someone, who is supposed to live there for a long time, can be well understood. Additionally, being unable to express oneself can put someone into depression. That is because the possibility of finding a friend decreases due to communication gap. Furthermore, even in their workplaces, foreigners will have to deal with a huge number of natives, who will be speaking in their own language, with each other. For instance, in India, people tend to ignore colleagues coming from different states and continue speaking in their mother tongue, therefore, making it difficult for newcomers to interact with their seniors. In conclusion, difficulty in expressing themselves for simple but necessary things can negatively impact those, who have moved to a place, where an unknown language is spoken. Thus, according to me, the hardship is real and the trauma may be responsible for mental health issues as well.