Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the help of globalization, international trading is much easier than it was before, therefore we can find a variety of foods from all over the world on the grocery store shelves. Although, many people believe that the government should produce all needed products for their citizens within a nation, whereas others argue that importing goods from other countries is a good idea. I think that producing enough daily bread for people's consumption is a better way of making a country more secure in terms of its revenue and employment. To begin with, it is beneficial to local people of a nation if food yield locally, because when any nation import goods, it involves international transportation charges, taxes, and labour expenses. By that means, the food will be expensive for the local people and not everyone can afford that. If the government encourages local people to grow food locally, then it can generate revenue for the country and the food will be cheaper as compared to the internationally imported food. As a result, everyone can buy food at a minimal price, and live life without any worry. For example, India is known as the most massive production of cotton in high yield and purchasing price of cotton in India is meagre as compared to other developed nations. Furthermore, more production in territory means that more farming in the local land, which directly impacts on the job level and benefit to local people and they can pursue their career in the agricultural field. For instance, more than fifty percent of Indian population is involved directly or indirectly in agriculture sector. This means that it lessens the recruitment level as half of the population work in agriculture. Thus, the government should encourage and promote more people to do farming for the betterment of the general public. In conclusion, I firmly believe that producing food for the entire population is a good trend, and bring many advantages such as more revenue and improve the employment figure of the nation.