Some environmentalists have advocated building wildlife sanctuaries to protect endangered species. Discuss the Advantages and disadvantages of doing this.

Several animals are on the verge of extinction, hence the environmental scientists recommend creating wildlife sanctuaries to product these species. This essay would not only outline the merits of building these new habitats that would create a positive atmosphere for the breeding and maintaining a healthy gender ratio of animals, but also highlight demerits that it can further reduce the count of these endangered species. To commence with, creating sanctuaries would be helpful as these animals will get a favourable environment for breeding. It is often observed that a lack of such an atmosphere is the principal reason behind the reduction of the animals. Moreover, while placing them into these forests, a healthy ratio of male to female can be maintained so that there would not be gender imbalance which can inhibit the production of the new offspring. This arrangement would tackle the issue which usually happens in the jungle where the count of either male or female is more which eventually leads to conflict. It can be observed with the example of the "Save Tiger" mission, which was undertaken by PETA in India. As part of this mission, PETA has placed several female tigers in the Sunderban forest to balance with the male tiger's number. Post that, within one year Tigers count is almost doubled. However, building such parks can be counterproductive for the animals where they will face natural competition from other species. For example, in case there are lions in these sanctuaries then placing tigers would create conflict between these two specifies for the prey. Hence, these fights can further reduce the number of endangered species. Furthermore, it can be a dangerous approach as it can make these animals vulnerable to the disease. As Sanctuaries have borders, these animals cannot run away in case of the spread of epidemic diseases in their breed; whereas, in the open forest they can migrate in case of such disease spread. In conclusion, although building sanctuaries would help in balancing the gender ratio and provide a healthy breeding atmosphere for the animals who are on the verge of extinction, it can further reduce the count of these animals due to conflict with other species and exposure to diseases.