In recent years virtual tourism including virtual reality tours, 360 videos has emerged as an alternative form of traveling reshaping the way people explore destinations and connect with cultural heritage from afar. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Travelling has been a huge part in people's lives since the industrial revolution. Right now there is a new form of travel emerging: virtual tourism. But it is important to carefully examine the pros and cons of this new trend to fully understand if it is really worth it. Firstly, there is no question that there are lots of advantages to virtual tourism. It is more financially sustainable for most people: they don't have to spend their money on hotel tickets, food or other accommodations, the places they want to explore are right at their fingertips and accessible from the comfort of their own home. Furthermore some might not be able to travel abroad due to other factors like health concerns or family issues. This is why the opportunity to see the world through virtual exploration might be the best option. However, what most people don't realise is that in this day and age people get more and more detached from reality. According to the philosopher Baudrillard, there is this new phenomenon called hyperreality, when all that a person sees is not reality itself but a copy, an illusion of it. Maybe virtual tourism can be categorised as that. In that case it would pull us away from real life even more. In conclusion, there is no doubt that nothing can fully replace the feeling of experiencing something face to face, with all five of your senses. Nevertheless so many people are not able to afford this luxury and are left with only one option: online travelling. In an ideal world everyone would be able to enjoy the beauty of all cultures without a screen in between them, though sadly, it is not possible.