Do you feel it is better for young people leaving school to study further at University or go straight into the workplace? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples for your knowledge and experience.

Generally speaking, many students wait until having the baccalaureate degree to start working and earning money. Although doing the latter might be of high benefit for some, yet I am in favour of continuing education by getting a bachelor, masters and why not a PHD degree. Below is a brief of the reasons behind my position along with the counter opinion. The first and most important reason is that education itself is a must for every young student. This is because going straight to the hiring phase will get him a low position with a mediocre salary. Being a recruiter at the human resources department, I can frankly say that having no degree will allow you to work in an entry level position with a pay no more than the minimum wage. Moreover, an article published on New York Times last month stated that 45% of graduates who decided not to get a higher certificate are currently being recruited with a salary of 675.000 LBP, occupying jobs such as security personnel, secretary and office boys. In opposition to this first argument, another point of view states that lots of people can't afford paying university tuitions and this is why they run to start a career to support their parents by earning a fair some of money at the end of the month. For instance, a colleague of mine who was not able to allocate $8.000 per semester for his 18 year old son to study Business, asked me if I can employ him as a delivery boy so he can help with the monthly dues. In addition to this, a statistic made by the American University shows that 38% of youth who fill applications to join colleges do not continue due to financial problems. Finally, it is true that making money can be someone's priority, but learning should be above this no matter how hard it was to be executed. I would certainly prefer to recruit a well-educated candidate for someone who decided to stop learning at the age of 18.