The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the western part of the world, obesity in youngsters has grown up in the past decade. There are possibly drastic causes and long term effects of this trend which I would be discussing in detail. The physical health of a child is directly related to eating habits and physical exertion. Taking unhealthy and poorly cooked food is a reason in overweight of children. For example, a recent increase in fast food restaurants has made food available quickly and at a much cheaper rate, as compared to cooking food at home. Furthermore, there has been observed that there is a lack of exercise and physical motion among children. For instance, the overuse of smart gadgets has limited the physical exertion leading to obesity in teenagers. Nowadays children enjoy spending time more on electronic equipments rather than playing outside. The disturbing lifestyle of children has an adverse effect on the society and future generations. Due to an unhealthy way of living, there is an increase in diseases at a very young age. For instance, health problems like heart attacks and diabetes are now common in youngsters. If this lifestyle continues, consequently, it would be having a strong impact on future generations, as they would be inheriting health issues from their parents. In addition, there would be an increase in the demand for a better health system. The unhealthy diet and lack of exercise contribute to the high rate of obesity in children. If this issue is not addressed properly, it would be having drastic effects on the society and future generations.