Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no country in the world which is untouched by the phenomenon of imported food items. Some nations prefer to buy food products from other places because of their inconvenience in farming and agriculture. I firmly believe that a country should produce foodstuff by themselves in order to avoid food crop scarcity. It is clear that the weather and soil conditions of all nations are not similar.To give an ideal example, the middle east countries like the UAE and Saudi Arabia have some limitations in agriculture and farming, because most of their landscapes are covered with desert. Hence, these nations import food items from Europe and other Asian countries. One of the significant issues associated with the over-dependence on imported food is its quality. If the fruit, vegetables and meat are imported from a long distance, the companies may use harmful chemicals to preserve that food. Nowadays, many nations are encouraging their citizens to produce more food crop in their country. Recent studies indicate that it is only likely to accentuate in the coming decades considering the ground realities of the modern world. Firstly, if a nation has adequate farming, they can store and use that foodstuff in case emergencies. For example, in Kerala, last year we had a massive flood during that time, the government could use the stored food in the food corporation of India in order to avoid its Scarcity. Secondly, the government can reduce unemployment problems among the youth by offering opportunities in the agriculture area. The authorities can also introduce loans and subsidies, which will attract the youngsters to the farming sector. Finally, if the local food production is higher than its current production, a nation can maintain its public health by providing surplus healthy food. To conclude, while it can be argued that too much emphasis is placed on imported food items, my own opinion is that it is always better to produce domestic food in a nation.