In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, it is prevalent for enterprises to emphasize the new characteristics of production in their advertisements. This essay aims to look at the possible reasons for it and back up the argument that is a positive development. On the one hand, there are several reasons why commercial advertising prefers to emphasize innovation in commodities. Firstly, it is helpful to highlight the selling point of the production, which means customers can facile understand the main characteristic of the production by watching the advertisement. Secondly, using this way to propagandize the goods can create a demand that encourages the public to consume because of the feeling of absence. Take cosmetics, for example, many advertisements highlight they have added some rare materials in their products which can make people younger to attract customers to buy them. In my view, I think this phenomenon is a positive development. For one thing, individuals can quickly know the predominant innovation of a product if an advertisement shows its new things clearly. For instance, many smartphone manufacturers like Apple usually emphasise their main progress on sales posters when they release a new phone. For another thing, showing new things in advertising can encourage companies to compete so the price of this technique will decline, and more innovation will appear. This is mainly because enterprises must insist on improving their products following or exceeding rivals’ steps if they don’t want to be abandoned by the market. To summarize, highlighting selling points and creating demand are two main reasons why advertisements usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. From my perspective, the overall impacts of this trend are positive, considering the help of choosing goods and the promotion of innovation.