In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Summer holidays, in most parts of the world, result in a two-month closure of primary and secondary schools. While there are significant benefits of long holidays, some people believe that it is more advantageous to make them shorter. To begin with, long school holidays offer some invaluable positive points for students. First and foremost, it is a great relief from all the struggles they have been through, passing the demanding courses in addition to spending most of the day on being at school or studying. What is more, the long enough summer holidays give both the students and their parents the opportunity to plan for a fascinating trip, which they can never arrange during the syllabus. Furthermore, long holidays in summer can be a good chance for students to brush up on the skills they did not have enough time to practice. For example, they can enrol in summer classes in the arts or in their favourite sport, such as swimming. On the other hand, some people argue that it is better to shorten school holidays for various reasons. Firstly, they believe that a long absence from learning environment can lead the students to a path of drastic laziness and distraction, making them unwilling to return to school and study after a long break. Second, it has been argued that allocating more time to each semester allows teachers to schedule a better teaching program without the pressure of time shortage, which leads to an effective, higher-quality education. Finally, a longer school period gives the student the opportunity to participate in extracurricular activities, enabling them to focus on both their academic courses and their talents simultaneously. In conclusion, a two-month summer holiday is long enough for students to recover from the difficulties they face at school and enjoy the summer accompanying their families. However, some believe that it is more beneficial to make the summer holidays shorter and allocate more time to school.