In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is injurious to health. This is the very first quote we find in every pack of cigarette. Now-a-days smoking in public is declared as a punishable offence. Hence people are advised to leave the building to smoke to which I completely agree and will discuss my views in this essay. Smoking not only deteriorates health of the smoker, but also has a harmful effect on the people around him. For example, a pregnant employee in an office might be affected the most as a passive smoker if her adjacent colleague keeps on smoking regularly which is really uncalled for. Smoking is the leading reason for lung cancers in the world. If it is restricted to only non-public places the smokers as well would not able to smoke as much as they would if allowed to smoke in offices or homes. For instance, if an employee is asked to leave the office building every time he feels the urge to smoke would find it inconvenient and will automatically decrease his frequency of smoking. On the other hand, most smokers argue that the ban of smoking in public places affects their social life. Many people enjoy the habit of smoking in the company of friends in restaurants and bars and hence are unable to do so anymore now. Apart from this, people say that it is an addiction and the ban is causing a great mental turbulence to them. However, different alternatives to smoking like the e-cigars can be advised to such people. In a nutshell, I firmly believe that smoking should be completely banned in the public places for the good of the society as well as an initiative to help the smokers get rid of their addiction.