Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The use of technologies of communication has become extremely prevalent among youngsters these days. Some people think that this excessive reliance on gadgets may have some serious implications on their performance in writing and reading tasks. I feel that using cell phones and computers too much can eventually undermine writing and reading skills. This will be shown by looking at how the constant use of the keyboard can wean people off handwriting, and poor lexical resource brought about by the over-exploitation of communication devices. To begin with, those who type on the keyboard all the time might end up experiencing difficulties writing by hand. For example, a friend of mine who can type 70 - 80 words a minute on the computer are the slowest writer in his class and makes a lot of spelling mistakes. This means that he has lost his writing skills because of spending too much time typing and dedicating no time to practicing handwriting. Secondly, gadget addiction may lead to poor vocabulary which appears to be essential for achieving a high calibre both in writing and reading. It seems that those young people who spend hours conversing and texting via the cell phone or the computer, usually do not have sufficient time to work on expanding their vocabulary range and as a result are likely to underachieve in writing and fail to understand papers written in an academic register or using any other special terminology. Thus, it is clear that the disproportionate use of gadgets has a negative impact on reading and writing skills of the young. In conclusion, it appears to me that the abuse of technologies, such as mobile phones and computers has the potential to aggravate young people's skills in writing and reading. It seems advisable that parents curtail the amount of time their children spend using their gadgets to enable them to enhance their scholastic achievement and avert them from failing in their studies.