Nowadays an ordinary person can become popular through the Internet and TV media. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion with relevant examples.

Television and especially the internet have made it possible for a regular person to gain fame and become a celebrity overnight. Some critics argue that this is a positive trend, while others believe that the negative effects are more apparent. Personally, I agree with the latter opinion and I will sustain my view with examples. Firstly, there are numerous cases where people with no talent became celebrities only because they were massively promoted on TV and social media. One such example is the case of Kardashians in the USA, where the main family member, Kim Kardashian, was just a regular person, but she shot celebrity through a TV reality show and social networking platforms, without having discernible talent. In other words, she took advantage of the fast-evolving world of digital media and became a billionaire, to the detriment of other skilled people who are not looking for fame and remain unknown to the general public. This is why, it can be argued that becoming popular through modern media may be a negative development. Secondly, there is an ever-increasing number of ordinary people who hold strong views about a certain topic and they become bloggers and influencers on the Internet. Such people have no recognised qualifications, but they become famous with the aid of modern media only because they possess the power and authority to influence the opinions of other people. A good example of this would be a blogger who has strong believes against vaccinations, has thousands of followers and plays a key role in the anti-vaccination movement. Consequently, it can be argued that such a person plays an extremely negative role in society only because the media gives them the possibility to become famous, without being checked and scrutinised. On the other hand, the mass media can help ordinary gifted people to become celebrities, who otherwise would remain unknown and their talent would be wasted. For instance, the popular TV show America’s got talent gives the opportunity to everyday people to show off their talents and gain fame. In conclusion, I think it is a great thing that television and the internet give people more chances to succeed. However, it also leads to situations where people with no talent or skills can become famous and have a detrimental impact on the views of the followers, thus making this new trend a negative development.