Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An argument has arisen between two views, the first group says that high school students should work in free community service, while the second one objects to that. In this report, I will go through both sides of this conflict, and then allow me to share my position. To begin with, working in community service is entertaining, interesting, educational, helpful, and beneficial. It will help learners to improve important skills. For further explanation, many students acknowledge that after working in various facilities, they become aware of important skills. In addition, many companies say that they look for a variety of skills such as communication, problem-solving, leadership, and unity which are hard to have if the person do not have any previous experience. Besides that, it is joyful and useful at the same time. Many students admit that they felt excited, cheerful, and happy when they worked in society service, especially when they worked with different ages and discovered how each generation think in a completely different way. Even though the points mentioned above are influencing, there are reverse points that hold equal influence. Firstly, it will waste their time. For further explanation, high school students have a variety of exams and each one of them require preparing and studying; as a consequence, they do not have time to work in their society. Secondly, they do not have the basic knowledge to work. For example, many professions such as teaching younger children, taking care of elderly, and working for a charity are not extremely easy, so it is essential to know how to deal with people and how to solve sudden issues. However, high school students do not have such knowledge. In conclusion, although working in community service is time-consuming, hard, and boring, it has many merits. As a result, I completely agree with the first group.