Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is irrefutable that technology is growing by the leap in the modern era. It made everyone's life so easy and reduced the effort of manual jobs. Some people believe that our life was too enjoyable prior to the automation introduced. I agree with this notion and will put my perspective in the following essay. To begin with, our lives are so integrated with the technologies. What I mean by this, we intend to purchase a new gadgets upon releasing of new versions. For instance, Apple releases a new version of iPhone each year. As a result, People tend to sell their current phones in order to acquire the latest phone even though the phone condition is better because of insecurity of holding an old version phone in front of their friends. Therefore, it increases the expenditure and put in debts. On the other hand, In olden days, humans are delightful when they stay away from technology. Perhaps, they used to lead a very simple life in the past. If they wish to meet their friends, they can meet personally visiting their home, which makes happier than meeting in video calls. Because of the technology, the moral values are diminishing in rapid face. Children are addicted to digital machinery such as video games and televisions rather than playing with other kids. Due to this, they spend more on the screens which in turn decreases the social activities. Moreover, it does harm they're healthy in a long run like obesity and eye sight. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down, saying that, Although technology has made our life easy it has more demerits than the merits. However, if we utilize in the right direction, it will never override our simple lifestyle.