Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to the development of technology and medical fields, people nowadays have an easier life than in the past. Although some people harbour a belief that getting old is a negative thing, the improvements in life have weakened some individuals’ anxiety about age as they think it is easy to live. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the opinion that ageing is not a positive process no matter how society develops. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of an optimistic attitude towards ageing is that individuals have sufficient resources to maintain healthy lifestyles. Due to technical and medical progress, individuals in modern society are prone to be well looked after. Especially the older generations who require more care than the young ones, are able to live in relatively safer and healthier environments than before. Besides abundant support, the emphasis on body fitness and balanced diets have significantly extended life expectancy and enhanced general health to a certain degree. According to the aforementioned, it seems the demerits of getting old are somehow alleviated in modern life. At the other end of the spectrum, ageing will contribute to personal and social burdens. For the sake of social well-being, governmental support in ageing nursing will definitely affect the expenditure and resources in other aspects because they are limited. In addition, it can be torture to "save" those elderly who will spend the rest of their lives in bed. Not to mention, the family members who are primarily responsible for taking care of those patients. Therefore, getting old is a vicious process which individuals can only experience the weakness of their bodies and increase the public burdens. To sum up, despite the fact that it is easy to live in such a highly developing society, the disadvantages of ageing cannot be denied. As no one can escape from the cruel circle, what humans can do is live in present and cherish the surroundings.Carpe diem!