As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. what problems does this have on the environment? what measures could be taken?

There is no doubt that nowadays, more and more people are travelling by aeroplanes, either for business purposes, or for exploring tourist destinations. Therefore, demand for flights has been also increased which leads to numerous problems. This essay shall discuss the environmental problems caused by escalated air journeys and the measures to be taken to overcome this issue. One of the most serious problems caused by the growing number of aeroplanes is the increased pollution levels. In other words, smoke and harmful gases releasing from the plane engine, go into the atmosphere; contaminate it and deteriorate the air quality. Moreover, the loud noises of the engine result in the noise pollution, which impact the hearing capacity of human beings as well as the birds in the sky. To illustrate, a survey report suggested that the airport cities are much more polluted than the other areas where there is no airport. However, the aforementioned environmental issues can be solved by taking appropriate actions. First of all, the individuals should prefer to use other types of transport such as rail and buses for shorter distances, in case of non-emergency. For instance, if a person has to travel from Delhi to Chandigarh, which is a shorter journey, he/she should go by car or by bus instead of taking a flight. This will reduce the demand for the flights and eventually helps in reducing the pollution and thus save our environment. In conclusion, although the escalation in air travel has impacted the environment on a large scale, this problem is not insurmountable. It is the responsibility of both the public and the government to combat this issue by considering some of the solutions proposed above.