Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Firstly, it’s universally accepted that psychological illnesses are the symptom of mental disorders. I mean that there was a wrong belief in the past that every person who turns to a psychiatrist, probably, would be judged by his relatives; therefore, the patients would hide their disabilities and following that, it seems that physical illnesses are more important to be cured. As a personal experience, I remember that a friend of mine suffered from depression for many years. Unfortunately, her family decided to put her under a spell; because they believed that such mental disabilities are evil and they refused to get help from a psychiatrist. Today, we witness a huge rise in the number of people who take psychological medicines. In fact, it may seem that the majority of illnesses are classified as physical, but my impression is that the way of thinking of society is acutely determinative. In this essay, I will argue that the traditional beliefs about psychological illnesses and also, our attitude to cure them, is vital for us in order to decrease the problems. Secondly, I would say that the further problem is that there are not adequate knowledge about psychological illnesses and their cures. Personally, I feel these problems are not insolvable if effective actions are taken. Undoubtedly, the most practical way to clear up this problem is public training with regard to mental disorders. In my view, every mental disease refers to a chemical unbalance in our body; thus, we can take appropriate drugs to solve our problem. I believe that informing people about psychological disabilities and probable solutions in order to cure them, is the most fundamental step to decline devastating effects of such illnesses. In conclusion, I totally agree with this fact that psychological illnesses are more vital to be cured compared with physicals. These disorders, unquestionably, are more disabling. In my point of view, social superstitions and lack of enough knowledge are two drastic elements that serve a critical role in conjunction with our health.