3(i). In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting University studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of your people who decide to do this.

Recently, having a gap year before starting University education has become a common trend among youngsters in many countries. Notwithstanding, in this discourse, the plus points and the pitfalls will be explored accordingly. Admittedly, taking a break from academics has its benefits. From a social point of view, youths who travelled during their time off to learn new customs and cultures as a result, broadens their horizons. On a personal level, such breaks help young ones develop independence and self confidence consequently preparing them for college life. Furthermore, some teenagers prefer to work this free period. Not only does it lead to real life experiences but also, boost their career interest in reputable universities. To epitomize, according to a survey carried out by Harvard University, 75% of the students agreed that it was easy for them to choose a specific course after they worked in their gap year. However, taking a look at the flip side, employed youths may be deluded into thinking that they are making a lot of money as a result, losing the opportunity to get tertiary education and earning a higher income. Another drawback is that a year off from school is a long time that can lower the grades of the young people. Teenagers are easily distracted and may lose interest in further studies. For instance, according to a report published by the New York Times, 30% of students who joined the university after a gap year got lower scores as compared to their peers who did not take the time off. In conclusion, having explored both slants, it is certain that the boons outbalance the enormous drawbacks.