Some people think that the Government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The various ways a government spends its money has been a controversial topic over the years. Few of the pupils think that the Government wastes its finances on arts and could find better avenues of investing it. This essay will argue why it needs to invest the money elsewhere than on things that are not the need of the hour. Firstly, there are pieces of art spread across different nooks and corners of the city which are visually informative in nature. Secondly, these have added to the flora and fauna of the locale. For example, people from within the city, travel to Dharavi and has increased intercity travel due to the murals present in it and have bought at great value to the government in terms of tourism and made people realise the historic value of the location. The art culture has been greatly increased in the Indian subcontinent for which there are more and more investments made towards the arts culture. However, that's the last thing the government needs to invest in at this conjuncture. There are other problems such as poverty that the poor can be helped with these monies. Furthermore, hunger is a matter of concern to where people can be helped. For example, 67% of India struggles to run a household with an income less than 5000 months and 22% of India sleeps on an empty stomach at night. With having such grave problems at hand, it's unfair that monies get invested in the arts. To summarise, this essay argued why monies allocated to the government should be wisely spent and not on the arts when there are other issues at hand. I completely agree with the people who think that it's an absolute waste of monies.