The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that improving many people's lives is the most significant contribution of science and research. This essay will discuss how this statement is true and provide supporting explanations. It can’t be denied that science has played an essential role in various fields of life, especially in healthcare. For thousands of years, the healthcare system worldwide has improved significantly; we have scientists to thank for this. For instance, in this day and age, when someone contracts an unknown rash on their skin, modern science has made it possible to aid this issue swiftly with the help of educated practitioners. Moreover, this is also the case for non-health-related medical procedures such as plastic surgery and other appearance-enhancing procedures. Those with the means to purchase these alterations can obtain them from experts. The underlying idea behind these statements is that people can improve their lives instantaneously thanks to science. The prominence of technology in making our lives easier can illustrate another consideration to support this. For example, transportation services have been developed, making commuting from one place to another no difficult task. Through this advancement, those who work in cities also benefit as they are offered an array of public transportation, such as buses, trams, and trains, to avoid heavy traffic when using their vehicles. Moreover, the innovation of the internet has made it so much easier for people to learn new things. For instance, those unable to afford university degrees can now study online through courses to obtain official certificates that can be used when applying for jobs. As a result, the job market is more accessible to those from lower socio-economic and educational backgrounds, producing a much larger pool of applicants. In conclusion, though science indeed comprises multiple branches of discipline, I believe they all share a common end goal: to enhance the quality of people’s lives. Science has played a pivotal role in the advancements of healthcare and technology, which has been proven to benefit society for the greater good.