Some increasing price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Environmental pollution and traffic congestion are increasing day by day and some have suggested that the rise in petrol prices will help to combat this issue. From my point of view, there are other methods that can be utilised to resolve this matter, hence I completely disagree with this notion. Nowadays, a large percentage of our working class people use petrol cars rather than diesel engine due to easy service and maintenance. And they depend more on their own vehicles rather than public transport for travelling to work or for long distance drives. For example, a survey conducted revealed that people prefer private vehicle due to convenience and predictability, which is not provided by public vehicles. So, even if we introduce spike in fuel prices there isn't going to be any major transportation changes. A possible solution for this issue include the introduction of environmentally friendly automobiles. Due to advancement in technology, a wide range of new possibilities has arisen in the automobile industry. And my utilizing such new innovative technologies in manufacturing environmentally friendly vehicles we could decrease both pollution and traffic jams. For instance, electrically powered cars can be promoted among the consumer, so that we could cut down fuel consumption as a whole. Thus more energy and money can be saved. In conclusion, by increasing the petroleum prices we can't not fully achieve reduction in traffic and pollution problems. Hence, we must convert to using more alternative sources of energy sources such as electric power engines so that we can contribute to solving current issues without compromising the satisfaction we get while using private vehicles.