Nowadays children watch too much TV. Why is this happening and what can be done to prevent it?

All over the world, the number of children who are watching TV has increased drastically over the past few decades. This essay will discuss various reasons associated with this trend and propose possible solutions to prohibit this trend. To begin with, the main reason why children spend too much time watching television is that they do not have the required space to play outdoor games. Due to the space constraint in large cities, many public places such as parks and playgrounds have been converted into high rise buildings, which force the child to sit at home. As a result, they end up sitting for a long period of time watching cartoons and other entertainment programs. To tackle this problem, the politicians who can change the world must frame rules to set up parks and playgrounds across cities. If these facilities are provided, then children will spend their time playing outdoor games rather than watching television programs. Another reason for children to watch too much television is that their parents do not give proper attention to them. This is because both the parents are employed. Until their parents are back from their office, children are left alone at home, so rather than being alone, parents often allow their children to watch television. Unlike in the past where mothers take care of their children at home, the present generation has no one to look after their children. One way to tackle this problem is that parents should spend quality time with their children. Conversely, if they spend some time with their children, then they will stop watching television. In conclusion, the two problems associated with too much TV watching: the lack of playgrounds and the parent’s inattention that resulted from this trend can be mitigated if the government and parents implement the solutions proposed.