In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In this contemporary epoch, felony rates in both rural and urban areas are exponentially rising. Teenagers committing crimes have significantly increased in this global world. While many individuals believe that they should be charged like adults for their crimes, others hold a discomfort to this notion. I agree with this statement to some extent only as I have some reservations against it as well. This essay will delve deeper into both the aspects in the subsequent paragraphs followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, teenagers who get involved in shady businesses commit a number of crimes to fulfil their desires. Due to which, overall crimes are disrupting the lives of common people. That is why many people think that they should be convicted as per the rules set for adults. Additionally, individuals propagate that menace created in the community promotes drugs and other criminal activities in the neighbourhood. To stop this ever-growing seed of poison, teenagers should be locked up so that law abiding citizens can live their life normally. To exemplify, a meticulously conducted survey by the International Court of Justice in Norway revealed that the lawlessness rate among teenagers was 60% less as compared to other countries because of its strict confinement policy for criminals of any age. Thus, increasing problems in the public due to youngsters can be halted with strict regimes for their criminal behaviour. On the contrary, some opponents believe that teenagers are the future of every country. At such a young age, they can be moulded to do good deeds for the population. Hence, priority to their psychological evaluation will be indispensable in removing bad thoughts from their mind. Also, continuous training to enhance their skill-sets are the primary need as it will keep them occupied. Not only they will improve their life with government funded job programs, but will also refine from any offences in the future. Therefore, giving them maximum penalty will ruin any future scope of changing their behaviour. In conclusion, it can be concluded that if they are sentenced as per the laws set for grownups, they will have no chance in adapting to new life after imprisonment. Axiomatically, the world will be able to accept them for their good behaviour when they will get the education that they require to live a normal life away from lawlessness. Hence, capital punishment for their crimes will spoil them even further and overall crime rates will escalate.