Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

In this modern era, people are running short of their time and due to that, they are not able to take care of the elders. On the other side, there are many elders who don't have their families and are under the government's supervision. I personally believe that taking care of elders should be a family's responsibility. Moving forward, this essay will provide examples and a conclusion to support my view. If we talk about care, our parents and elders used to take care of us when we were children. They were also facing similar issues related to time management but they still managed to do it. In this era, the story is opposite where family members don't have much time to take care of their elders and as a result, they send them to government -funded old age homes. For example, I had one relative who was tired of taking care of his mother and he decided to send his mother to government -funded homes. What if our elders did the same with us when we were children and sent us to the government? Furthermore, the government should definitely look after the elderly who don't have their immediate family members with them. There are many elders who are alone and there is no one to take care of them, in that case, the government is a perfect source of help. For example, I had one family friend who died in a road accident and there was no one to take care of his parents. His parents then mutually decided to move to a government -funded house where they could spend time with other elderly and try to forget their child who is no more. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the elders who have their immediate family members alive should be taken care of by their family. The rest of the elders, who are totally alone should be taken care of by the government.