Social Media websites have amassed large user bases. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media platforms have gained significant power over the internet, where millions of users have registered themselves on these websites. Firstly, this essay will explain the benefits to people of using these internet sites, and secondly, it will describe the downsides of being a member of such a large network. To embark upon, social media websites have removed the social boundaries, and made it possible for people to communicate with each other within few seconds. The search option on these sites let users search for anyone they want, and start communicating with them. For example, it has been observed that many people all over the world found their old school friends over Facebook with a few clicks. In addition, these websites also keep people updated regarding the latest news. Almost all the news channel over the world, have registered themselves on these platforms, where they share news and alerts. However, there are few disadvantages of using these websites. Firstly, being the use of these websites compromises the privacy of the people. Many people share their photographs, personal interests and their current locations, which are often used by some fraudsters to create a fake identity. For instance, it has been observed that many accounts on websites like Facebook and Instagram are fake. Furthermore, the excessive use of these websites usually results in wastage of people's time. People usually become addicted to these websites, because of the variety of content available, which mostly involves information which is not otherwise needed. To conclude, social media has brought many advantages such as ease in communication and keeping people updated with recent updates. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages of being a social media member such as lack of privacy.