Essay writing. More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, car and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is irrefutable that an increasing number of people show a preference for high-end brands over those locally-produced counterparts. Personally, I believe this trend of consumerism might be attributed to the dominance of advertising and the desire for social status. While there are some drawbacks that can arise, I consider it to be far more beneficial. Nowadays, customers have been bombarded with advertising campaigns such as giant street hoardings and catchy jingles on television from all sides. The repetitive slogans and remarkable logos of some popular brand packages, therefore, are ubiquitous and planted in their minds. It is a subtle approach since it seeks to increase our interest and demand for deluxe items. Another reason might be the people’s belief on personal possessions reflecting wealth and social status. Cars from luxurious brands, for example, are usually sold at exorbitant prices due to their expensive materials or unique features. Hence, these items are often deemed a tool for the privileged to show off their affluence. That more people make a purchase of merchandise from top brands can bring merit to both individuals and countries. The first advantage is that companies now put considerable emphasis on quality and customer service. Businesses are conscious that to survive in today’s competitive world, it is crucial to have a good reputation, and hence people offer better services. For example, if a person buys a branded cell phone which is, unfortunately, not functioning effectively, he would get a full replacement provided that it is still under warranty. Secondly, countries where global brands originate are more likely to have a stable and healthy economy. For instance, the US - the home country of many major brands, such as Apple and Microsoft, has been the strongest economic superpower since the late 20th century, partly due to the predilection for these enterprises’ commodities not only in domestic but also in foreign markets. In conclusion, the influence of advertisements and people’s perception of personal belongings showing their social status could be the explanations for the consumption of first -class brands and my view is that it is a positive trend.