In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether imprisonment or education is a more effective ways to deal with criminals has long been a heated debate in many parts of the world. Regardless of some benefits of the former, I still believe the latter would produce more long-term results. On the one hand, prison can be justified on the ground that it better serves deterrence and retribution than other punishments. The prevalence of incarceration in many countries could stem from a common belief that prisons are a suitable place to execute punishment on those who have committed an offence. If violating the law is shown to come with a severe consequence, those who have served their sentence might be more wary of re-offending the law when they are released. This, however, could prove counterproductive to petty crimes such as minor shoplifting, or pick pocketing. The criminals of such illegal acts would bear resentment, rather than grow a feeling of repentance like being expected. On the other hand, education could resolve problems with imprisonment and better still, bring more benefits in the long run. While detaining criminals may frighten them away when thinking of the consequence of committing a crime, rehabilitation stands a higher chance of making such criminals understand why they should conform to the law willingly. Once the awareness is raised, one possible outcome is that the crime rate would be diminished. This is especially true when it comes to teenagers who can be easily influenced by peer pressure, proper education at school can deter such juveniles from committing delinquency. And even if one commits a crime, he will be more inclined to contribute to society once he understands his wrong, rather than hold a grudge. In conclusion, education instead of imprisonment would be a desirable measure as it can raise people’s awareness of obeying the law and eliminate the resentment one may have after having served the sentence.