The trend of increasing tourism causes environmental problems in many parts of the world. What are the main causes of pollution it creates? What can be done to reduce it?

Nowadays, people across the globe have a keen interest in travelling to different countries. The swinging rise in tourism causes a lot of problems for the environment in various areas of the world. This essay will discuss the main reasons such as added usage of private vehicles, and factories trying to meet the shopping demands that lead to pollution. This essay will also discuss various ways of reducing it. More the people visiting the country only means more pollution. Firstly, as tourism is generally done in two's, the pair ends up preferring to use their own private vehicle which adds another smoke emitting machine onto the streets. Secondly, to cater to the demands of shoppers, factories double their production capacity that increases the amount of smoke they produce, leading to pollution. For example, Thailand, which is famous honeymoon spot had 34324 hired vehicles in the month of December and Factories were functional for over 24 hours during peak season, both leading to 16% rise in abuse in the country. The rise in abuse is slowly becoming a global concern. However, there are ways to reduce the aforementioned abuse problems. Developing and promoting the use of public transport for tourists in the country so they switch to bigger vehicles carrying a lot of people reducing the number of vehicles on the road. Furthermore, factories need to switch to recyclable ways of manufacturing products that emit lesser smoke. For example, Finland promoted public buses and reduce 80% of rented vehicles used by tourists and Adidas reduced smoke from their factory by using new ways of production. A reduction in abuse can set an example for other countries. To summarise, the surge in tourism, whilst a good thing can be the cause of quite a few problems. This essay discussed the primary factors of pollution and methods of reducing it.