It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? What are the effects on society?

It is true that there is a lack of students majoring in science -related fields. This could be attributed to a number of factors and it could affect humans’ quality of life and the economy of a country. There are two main contributors to the shift away from science subjects among students. In developed countries, science has already been prioritized over decades, which has produced an abundance of people working in the science field. This surplus renders this domain fiercely competitive, discouraging youngsters from choosing to study it. On the other hand, in underdeveloped and developing nations, it is wiser for governments to invest in the tourism industry, which yields immediate results. The proliferation of lucrative jobs created to cater for increasing demands for tourist activities has attracted a large proportion of young people in these countries, which explains the dearth of students in science majors. The lack of students studying science subjects may not pose any imminent drawback, but in the long run. it could have a stultifying effect on the economy of a nation and human health. Research has shown that productivity can only be improved if innovations are made or new technologies are invented. Advances in science are at the core of inventions and innovations, so the dearth of science majors would perhaps hinder the economic progress of a society. Furthermore, humans are still suffering from countless health problems that are presently incurable and we can only hope that scientific breakthroughs can be made to solve them The move away from science education would prolong the suffering of ill people and increase the number of deaths resulting from those health issues. In conclusion, the tendency among young people to choose other areas of knowledge rather than science can be ascribed to the high level of competition within the field in developed countries and more attractive job opportunities in developing countries. This development is deeply troubling as it would fail to enhance people ’s well-being and stultify economic growth in the long run.