We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalist. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should we have?

Today, it is important to note that the public has a growing appetite for different content areas of news, including national, local, entertainment, sports, politics, weather and traffic news. Today, it is important to note that the public has a growing appetite for different content areas of news, including national, local, entertainment, sports, politics, weather and traffic news. Not surprisingly, whenever people talk about journalism, objectivity is the first word that springs to mind. Reporters are generally expected to disclose all facts and uncover all sides of an issue without introducing any bias, as opposed to commentators, who are allowed to provide personal opinions. However, in reality, objectivity is hard to achieve. Journalists have to succumb to either commercial or political pressure, distorting facts and misleading the public. In many countries, news organizations are controlled entirely by powerful political parties and enjoined to disregard the truth and disseminate information that guides public opinions. Another factor contributing to the erosion of journalistic standards throughout the news business is that in these years, increasing weight has been given to following news values, entertainments, oddity and celebrity. To cater for the tastes of wider audiences, journalists can go so far as to twist the facts, fabricate the news and spread rumours. Many news media have a clear preference on media personalities and use their public appeal to increase viewing rates, giving these publicities, who hardly remain neutral, numerous opportunities to express their opinions publicly on a subject in which they have a personal stake or bias. It is thus fair to say that news is now less trustworthy. In general, a successful journalist should be first able to use careful judgment when organizing and reporting information. Determination and persistence are required when journalists ought to defend the freedom of the press and ordinary citizens' right to know the truth, despite being under different forms of pressure. In addition, they should be sensitive to and interested in current affairs at all levels. In acting as successful communicators and information senders, journalists should also have a good command of language skills and a real knowledge of different cultures, countries, races, and social groups. As shown above, people have reasons to suspect the credibility of a journalist. Either as a medium that deliberately affects the public interest or as a form of entertainment that does not attach much importance to seriousness, journalism has failed to maintain objectivity and live up to the ideals of journalistic responsibility. Without showing respect to freedom of expression and conveying messages accurately and promptly to the public, one cannot be acclaimed as a qualified journalist.