Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, some individuals argue that academic competition in educational institutions has negatively impacted children's mental health while others argue that it boosts confidence in students to become academically successful. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view before presenting my opinion. Children suffer from mental health problems like anxiety and stress due to constant comparison with other students.Children who do not perform well in studies lose their confidence and often feel anxious undermining their capabilities. It is also argued that not every child is good at academics and schools should work on their system so that every child discovers his/her own passion and interest. For example, some students are average at studies but excellent in sports activities.Schools should encourage such students to participate more in extracurricular activities to sharpen their talent. On the other hand,there are people who argue that the benefits of a competitive environment considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that it creates a positive environment for students to work hard towards achieving their academic goals. Moreover, a competitive environment in schools prepares students to get admission to top colleges and universities which would otherwise be impossible if they're not trained to deal with academic pressure. For Instance, IVY universities like Harvard and Yale have strict admission processes and eligibility requirements that only extraordinary students with excellent academic backgrounds would get an admission letter. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that educational institutions should advocate a healthy competitive environment without compromising on the mental well-being of students.