In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion.

Recently, there has been an increase in the length of life in several parts of the world. This phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks, however, I strongly concur that the demerits are dominant. For many people, long life expectancy seems to be a good trend, as it benefits everyone. First and foremost, it is claimed that the longer people live, the more they experience. When people are lucky to live longer, they may suffer from more events and feelings that occur in their social lives. As a result, they become more seasoned and their viewpoint of a problem appears to be more positive, which enhance their mental health. Moreover, as they live longer, they can spend time on doing what they really want such as studying or researching, which is the true value of life. Besides, by their contribution of theories and findings, they can contribute to some academic fields and develop the community. On the other hand, it is undoubted that the rise in life expectancy also results in some adverse. It is overpopulation, which is a really big concern for many oldsters. Consequently, there may be a large shortage of accommodation and land, the elderly have to live together with their family. Regarding to the rise of population also leads to the poor health of the society, because more and more things go waste contributing to the pollution. What is more, the longer people live, the more painful they have to suffer. Their bodies are always hurtful and they need to be hospitalized in order to get better treatments, which means that a large amount of money should be spent on prices. In conclusion, regardless of some advantages of having a longevity are attractive, the drawbacks may outweigh the merits in aforementioned circumstances. I firmly agree that the increase in the length of life may affect oldsters negatively.