Some people think that public health is a responsibility of the government, while others believe that individuals should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the salad days of the millennium, the society is polarized into two groups almost equally regarding the notion that whether the bureaucrats are responsible for taking care of the people's health or it is the people who should be responsible for their own personal health. Different people have a distinct mindset. I tend to believe that the masses are supposed to be taking care of themselves. The subsequent paragraphs would shed light on both the arguments. To commence with the first notion, some folks assert that keeping the people healthy is a responsibility of the law authority, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First and foremost, people in every sector of society pay taxes, such as road tax, house tax, salary tax and few others, to the government on an annual basis. Hence, they have the right to get free health care in all government-run hospitals. Secondly, just like we have housing, food, and clothing as the basic needs of human beings, in the same way, public health too should be made mandatory as the basic requirement of human beings, and, therefore, it is the duty of the government to take care of all the basic needs of the people living in the country. Shifting towards the second school of thought, many others concede that having a healthy body is a personal matter and so it is to be taken care of by the individual himself since there is no other human being who can judge an individual's body better than the individual himself. As a result, every person should take care of his/her body by themselves. Moreover, the bureaucrats can only support people in the nation by helping them financially, but the realistic approach to keeping one's body fit and healthy is a task that is to be fulfilled by the masses themselves. Nevertheless, folks must not depend on the government for the money, instead, they should try their best to arrange for it by themselves. In conclusion, while the law authorities have the duty towards its own people for taking care of their health, citizens should never forget that the best way they can keep themselves healthy is through their own efforts.