In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sports on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Whether live sports on television avert youngsters from actually playing sports in real life is a controversial issue and deserves a thorough discussion. In my opinion, participating in different sports is far more useful than only enjoying it on television, though watching a few games does not hurt. In this essay, I will discuss the view and present my opinion. To start with, many sports channels broadcast non-stop sporting competitions and many countries have ongoing tournaments. Young people these days have passions for numerous sports but hardly participate in outdoor sports. They prefer sports channel as part of entertainment rather than encouragement for their sportsmanship skill development. Non-stop sports on TV in a way deter youngsters from becoming sportsmen themselves. For example, more than half of my college friends are big fans of international sports like cricket and football, but their personal experience of these games is quite limited. They are better critics of those games than players. Only sports channels are not responsible for this decay. The rise of video games and access to gaming consoles has failed the trend. Furthermore, parents are responsible for this degradation as well. While parents should have encouraged children to play outdoor games, they are contented with the latest PlayStation and Xbox for their offsprings! In conclusion, the reluctance to play games rather than watching sports on TV has been kindled by the endless sporting programmes on TV, parents' apathy and widespread access to gaming devices. No doubt sports on TV can be a good way to enjoy our favourite team's performance, but youngsters should not watch it all day long.