Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In many developed countries, more than half the workforce are women, however, it is noticeable that the higher positions in many of the big companies consist of more men. People argue that a certain proportion of jobs should be reserved for ladies, but I disagree with the suggestion because men and women should compete on the same ground, and more female workers available do not mean that all of them want to be on top. Competition for higher positions in large companies should be fair. This applies to both men and women, as to become a leader, one must possess the qualifications, the right attitude, commitment, and capability to lead their workers. What is important for women is to have the same opportunities as men, not to be given special quotas. For example, if there are 5 candidates who come in for an interview to fill 2 manager positions, and there is a lady among the other 4 men, if the lady has the lowest mark among all, it is not fair to be hired just because one position is allocated for female. In addition, even if more women contribute to the working population, it does not mean that they have a greater number of females qualified to apply for the job, or they have the desire to fight for the role. Not many women pursue high-level positions because they prefer to work within comfortable hours and have less responsibility at work, as they want to have more time for their families. As we can see, there are more female graduates from university each year compared to men, but many wives opted to be less successful than their husbands to spend more time tending to their families. In conclusion, while some people suggest special allocation for women in larger corporations, I believe that the hiring requirement should be fair based on capabilities, and the majority of women prefer to be less successful in return for time with their families.